Listed buildings

There are a number of reasons why a building may be listed :

    Architectural interest – buildings which are of importance to the nation due to their architectural design, decoration or craftsmanship. Also any important examples of particular building types and techniques (either technological innovation or good examples of building techniques) and significant plan form
    Historic interest – this includes buildings which illustrate important parts of the nation’s history either social, economic, cultural or military and/or have close historical associations with nationally important people. There should normally be some quality of interest in the physical fabric of the building itself to justify the statutory protection afforded by listing
    Group value – where a number of buildings make up an important architectural or historic unity or are a good example of planning; for example squares, terraces or model villages.

There are three categories of listing :

    • Grade I buildings are of exceptional interest
    • Grade II* are particularly important buildings of more than special interest
    • Grade II buildings are of special interest warranting every effort to preserve them.

Much more detail about listing and listed building categories  can be found on the Historic England website.

Chesterfield Borough Council have a page on their website about listed buildings within the Borough. It includes downloadable lists and can be accessed here .

Page last updated 9 March 2023.